What Motivates You?

Motivation signAre you motivated by a desire to glorify God or to glorify self; to protect or to punish; to encourage or tear down; to accept imperfect people like Jesus accepts you or to reject them; to serve others, including the unlovable, or to serve yourself; to express your feelings in gentleness or to attack in defensiveness?

Recently, God has convicted me of my impure motives. Yes, I love Jesus and I want people to know Him, but at the same time I’m too concerned about me…about my reputation, about me offending someone if I preach boldly for Christ, or about how many people like or comment on my posts.

God has convicted me. I’ve been a wimpy Christian, living in fear of rejection, fear of rocking the boat or making someone uncomfortable, fear of man instead of the fear and wrath of God. God has shown me that we can put our faith in people, possessions, power, blog posts and what is said and done to us instead of what God says and has done for us on the cross.

Quite honestly, I’m tired of being a wimp! I want more of Jesus and what God has for me through Him. There is nothing more important than Jesus and my relationship with Him. I’m tired of pretending to read God’s Word and teach God’s Word without letting it be my life’s desire to ingest and digest and regurgitate God’s Word until it becomes alive in me and feeds my very soul and spews out of me because I cannot contain it. I want to memorize God’s Word until the very words that come out of my mouth and heart reflect Jesus in the flesh.

Check your motives.

  • Do you live in fear of what people might think, say, or do?
  • Do you love Jesus more than life itself?
  • Do you feel sorry for yourself and play victim by blaming and judging others?
  • Do you have a spirit of unbelief that God can handle your problem?
  • Do you lust after possessions, pleasure, or position?
  • Do you live with a spirit of pride trying to prove you’re powerful, perfect, and better than others?

Self-righteousness, self-pity, defensiveness, disrespect, greed, lust, unbelief, and fear of man are all forms of pride. The enemy is out to destroy relationships, but the fact is we destroy relationships through pride. We cause quarrels by thinking we’re right or smarter or justified or better than others.

The Bible says in Proverbs 13:10, “Pride only breeds quarrels, but wisdom is found in those who take advice.”

I’m not here to argue with you, but sometimes God uses people tell us what we need to hear, but we become defensive or at least I do. I’m learning to STOP to listen to God and ask myself, what is God trying to tell me through this person? What advice do I need to take?

I am repulsed by my heart and humbled before the Living God who already knows my heart and intentions. May I suggest that you ask God to show you your heart? Are you motivated by pride, fear, envy, greed, or lust? When He convicts you, repent. Turn from what motivated you before to be motivated to proclaim salvation in Christ Jesus. Die to yourself and live for Christ alone to bring hope to those who are hurting. Jesus is the answer to every problem people are facing today.

So, I confess to you that I am no longer a wimpy Christian. I will proclaim the gospel boldly for people to be saved. I might step on toes and be persecuted and even put to death someday, but I would rather have God say, “Well done my good and faithful servant” than to be spit out and have Him say, “I never knew you.”

Faithfully Following Jesus,

Kirsten Strawn

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Donna

     /  August 29, 2013

    Amen and thank you for sharing. Recently I sent a 911 out for prayer and when a friend told me something I didn’t like… I got defensive bc I felt I was being judged. The Lord stopped me in my self righteous tracks and the question was, “What if you are being judged, what matter is that? Why can’t this be part of the issue you are facing? If it’s not an issue, why are you reacting like this?” This friend is a precious gem of prayer and faith and as soon as pride entered my heart, I traded that truth for a lie. Pride is awful and comes in many ways we don’t see coming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    • Criticism, control, and complacency push spouses into divorce court or the arms of lovers. 1 month ago
    • The desire to be accepted compels many of us to compromise what’s right to do whatever it takes to be loved. amazon.com/Loving-Unlovab… 1 month ago
    • Rejected people react in unlovable ways. Even the fear of rejection will lead people to be rude and aloof in an eff… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago
    • @BillHybels Hearts breaking and crying out together for those who are broken brings a bonding of tears that are never forgotten. 1 month ago
    • RT @BillHybels: A room full of pastors in Addis Ababa prayed for a devastated church in Texas today..."Mourning for those who mourn." Unfo… 1 month ago
