When Mother’s Day Hurts

mothers day hurtsFor some, Mother’s Day is a painful reminder of the loss of your mother or being unable to be a mother or feeling like a failure as a mother or the memories of a mother who failed you. Today I want to speak to your heart. Actually, I want God to speak to your heart through me. You see, He loves you. He sees your pain. He knows you intimately for He knit you together in your mother’s womb.

God is with you right now in this very moment as you read these words. He wants you to know that He understands your loss, your rejection, your regret, your emptiness, and the longing of your heart. In fact, your heavenly Father put that desire in your heart to be healed and whole. He wants to meet you in your place of pain and fill that void and emptiness with His love and mercy and tender loving care.

We have a God of comfort and compassion who will embrace you and reach down to lift you up out of your miry pit. He hears the cry of your heart and wants to heal you and give you renewed hope. He has a glorious future for you of reconciliation, provision, and peace.

Will you trust that God loves you and that He is for you and not against you and that nothing can separate you from His love? His love alone will fill your void. It was for this reason that He demonstrated His love by coming to suffer that He might know your pain and broken heart. Jesus wept for you and the burdens that you bare. He knows your brokenness and He desires to heal you, to give you a new life, to resurrect you as a new creation filled with His tender mercy.

Whatever your situation, you have a spiritual family who cares for you. God gave you His Son to die for your pain that He might live in you to love the motherless and to experience the mother’s love through the church. Our pain serves as a way to comfort others in the midst of their pain.

You have a God of new beginnings. Today He wants to restore you and fill you with His overwhelming joy as you let Jesus enter in to that place of pain with a thankful heart knowing that He cares for you. Thank God for your mother who gave you life here on earth. Thank God for His Son who gave you abundant life for eternity by taking your pain upon Himself to bring you abundant joy.

Promise from God:

“Instead of your shame you will receive a double portion, and instead of disgrace you will rejoice in your inheritance. And so you will inherit a double portion in your land, and everlasting joy will be yours.“For I, the Lord, love justice; I hate robbery and wrongdoing. In my faithfulness I will reward my people and make an everlasting covenant with them.  Their descendants will be known among the nations and their offspring among the peoples. All who see them will acknowledge that they are a people the Lord has blessed” (Isaiah 61:7-9).

Prayer to God:

Dear Father God in heaven. Thank you for knitting me together in the depths of my mother’s womb. Thank you that I am fearfully and wonderfully made in your image. Thank you that you love me and see me and know my pain and sorrow. Forgive me for not trusting in your love and faithfulness. Meet me in my pain that I may be healed and restored. I praise you for my suffering that I may have compassion on others to be used for your glory and praise. Let this be a day where I remember my mother and see her as you see her and know her and love her in the midst of her pain. I rejoice in those fond memories of my mother. Bring me comfort today to have a grateful heart to demonstrate your love to those in pain in Jesus name I pray. Amen

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

