How to Choose Your Words Wisely

choose words wiselyEvery moment of the day we are faced with a decision on the words we say. Our words bring life or death, peace or confusion, unity or division. Our words say, “You’re important to me.” or “I don’t care about you.”

6 Steps to Speak the Right Words

  1. Ask God for wisdom. When you invite Jesus into your heart you have the Holy Spirit who is your Counselor. In the middle of a conversation or situation simply say, “God, give me wisdom to glorify You, in Jesus name.”
  2. Pay attention to that still small voice. After you have prayed then you will sense something in your spirit. Your inner voice will appear as a thought, a warning, or a nudging, “You shouldn’t say that.” or “She’s upset.” or “He’s uncomfortable.”
  3. Affirm that you care. Say words like, “I want to hear what you have to say.” or “I want to understand how you feel.” or “I want the best for you.” or “I want us to be close.”
  4. Confess your sin or faults. The Holy Spirit will whisper what you did or should have done. Quickly humble yourself to apologize for your part of the problem. “I’m sorry I wasn’t listening to you.” or “I’m sorry I was defensive.” or “I’m sorry I just interrupted you.” or “I’m sorry I just ignored you.”
  5. Stop to listen to their heart. The words the person says are not always the words they mean. Determine if he or she is afraid or hurt.
  6. Tell the truth. Let your words reflect God’s truth. Pray for more wisdom! Check your motives. Do nothing out of selfishness or pride. Think of that person as better than you before you respond. Do not allow the enemy to use you to bring destruction. God’s Word encourages, teaches, and benefits those who listen.

Promise from God

“If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you” (James 1:5).

Praise and Prayer

Father God, Thank you for the Holy Spirit that guides and directs my path as I trust and obey you. Please help me to be sensitive to your still small voice. Forgive me for my impatience and pride that says I have to be right or get my point across. Thank you for your promise that you give me wisdom when I ask. Help me to remember to ask in the midst of a conversation or situation. Help me pay attention to your leading and to obey what you tell me to do. Help me to affirm my love and concern for others instead of thinking about myself and what I want. Help me to be humble and take responsibility for my sin. Give me self-control to listen and be slow to speak. Help me meditate on your Word so that my conversations align with what is true. Give me wisdom to speak truth that will benefit them instead of tearing them down. I want to reflect and demonstrate the same love and grace you show me. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Linda Ballard

     /  April 13, 2013

    Thank you for this wisdom. I pray this prayer along with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

