STOP to Handle Anger

STOPAnger is an emotion God gave us. We all have anger. It’s your anger that prompts you to protect innocent people and fight for righteousness to bring about good. God desires for you to handle your anger appropriately. In fact, God says, “In your anger do not sin” (Ephesians 4:26). Obviously, you can have anger without sinning. Otherwise, God would not have said so in His Word.

Some people believe they don’t have anger, since they don’t lash out. The truth is that anger can manifest itself in critical thoughts, denial, withdrawal, depression, and forgetfulness. Quiet, non-responsive people can respond this way when emotionally or physically harmed. In fact, these people are just as angry. I know, because I was one of them.

Let the following acrostic S.T.O.P. be your guide to gain self-control over your anger and perspective on the situation before you respond:

“S” is for SURRENDER to God to be lifted up: “Submit yourselves to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and he will come near to you…Humble yourself before the Lord and He will lift you up” (James 4:7-8, 10).

“T” is for TRUST that God loves you and He will direct your path: “Neither death nor life…nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord” (Romans 8:38-39). “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight” (Proverbs 3:5-6).

“O” is for OBEY God to demonstrate love and see Him at work: “Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him” (John 14:21).

“P” is for PRAY to unleash God’s power: Jesus said, “If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you. This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples” (John 15:7-8).

Praise and Prayer

Dear Father God, Humbly I come before you in reverence to who you are. I submit to you and resist the devil. Forgive me of my pride to do life in my own power and strength. I resist the lies and negative thoughts that play in my mind, I resist my critical thoughts that say I’m better than others, I resist all fear that holds me captive to living the abundant life you have for me. I trust that you love me, that you are for me and not against me. I lean not on my own understanding but acknowledge you so that you will guide and direct my path. I want to honor and obey to demonstrate my love for you and see you at work in my life. Let me be sensitive to the Holy Spirit and your still small voice that will nudge me to make the right choices as I seek you with all of my heart. Thank you that you are faithful to answer my prayers as I follow and abide in your Word for your glory. Thank you that I am your disciple to make a difference in the lives of the people you place in my life. Thank you for the power of the fruit of the Spirit that allows me to love, to experience your joy, to have peace, and patience. Help me to demonstrate kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control to allow people to see Jesus in me (Galatians 5:22-23). Help remind me to STOP before I respond to be a reflection of your love, grace, and truth in Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Read more in Kirsten’s book LOVING THE UNLOVABLE, available on Amazon by ordering here.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Donna

     /  April 8, 2013

    Great way to have the word of God easily on hand to help us all when those times come.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    • Criticism, control, and complacency push spouses into divorce court or the arms of lovers. 1 month ago
    • The desire to be accepted compels many of us to compromise what’s right to do whatever it takes to be loved. amazon.com/Loving-Unlovab… 1 month ago
    • Rejected people react in unlovable ways. Even the fear of rejection will lead people to be rude and aloof in an eff… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago
    • @BillHybels Hearts breaking and crying out together for those who are broken brings a bonding of tears that are never forgotten. 1 month ago
    • RT @BillHybels: A room full of pastors in Addis Ababa prayed for a devastated church in Texas today..."Mourning for those who mourn." Unfo… 1 month ago
