On the Verge of Divorce

verge of divorceWe were on the verge of divorce two years ago when I was ready to publish my book LOVING THE UNLOVABLE.  I felt like a hypocrite.

I knew God’s Word, but I didn’t always know how to apply it. For this reason, God intervened in the process of publishing my book and filing the papers for separation. He wanted to give me the tools to take the book to a much deeper level. He wanted to be glorified.

God showed me His perspective to my problems.

In the process of separation, God put a godly Christian couple into our lives. With their help, I discovered that my husband was in pain. He felt condemned by me and unloved. Instead of focusing on my pain, I realized that Mark had a different perspective than me and I began taking the time to listen and understand how God created him to complement me, not annoy me.

Mark is my complete opposite.

Analytical, a driver, a planner, nurtured by being inside, task oriented, quick to make decisions, and very direct. Whereas for me, I’m expressive, spontaneous, rarely plan, nurtured by being outside, relationship oriented, slow to make decisions, and a peace maker, but sometimes at the expense of being honest..

Instead of resenting my husband, I began to recognize his strengths and appreciate those differences.

I began to rejoice in his positive qualities and communicate great appreciation for all the areas where I was weak and he was strong. Instead of letting my thoughts go to “what a jerk, he’ll never change”, I began holding my thoughts captive to think on the positive and the promises from God. I began to change the way I responded and in that process God did a miracle in my marriage.

Everything that happens in our lives is for one purpose only, to glorify God and make His mighty power known. It’s all about surrendering your life to God to see Him at work in you and through you. He will do immeasurably more than you can ask or imagine with the power of the Holy Spirit in you when you love and follow Jesus.

Promise from God

“Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us” (Eph. 3:20).

Praise and Prayer to God

Faithful and powerful God. You are holy. You alone are worthy of all honor, glory, and praise. Thank you for the gift of the Holy Spirit and your truth that transforms our lives. Thank you that when we follow your ways that our ways will bring blessings to others. We want immeasurably more than we can ask or imagine in our difficult relationships. Use us to build people up, to see situations from your perspective, and to understand the pain, perspective, and personality of others. Help us to rejoice in our differences since you created us to come together with our strengths and weaknesses to accomplish great and mighty things that we would be unable to do on our own. We surrender to you to see you at work in us and through us to make your mighty power known. In Jesus name we pray. Amen.

Buy the book LOVING THE UNLOVABLE to transform your difficult relationships with God’s truth. Order here.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

