Steps to Gain Victory Over Negative Thoughts

victory over neg thoughtsMy husband and my 16-year-old son loaded up the car to go hunting this morning for wild turkey. Friends were meeting them at our house to carpool to Julian. Awake at 3:30 am to see them off, I sat in the livingroom preparing to spend time with God. They made sure the dog was fed and in the house then I heard the garage door open and shut.

My heart sank as I realized they were gone. They had left without saying good-bye to me.

Moments later the phone rang. Nervously, my son chuckled, “Hey Mom, we forgot to say good-bye. Oh, and Daddy says he loves you.”

I said something sarcastic to cut the pain.

At first, my mind raced to a pity party of poor me and unkind thoughts of “He doesn’t love me.” “How typical.” “I don’t mean anything to them.”

When I cried out to God to lead me in His Word for peace, comfort, and direction I randomly opened to the following scripture:

“A wise woman builds her house, but the foolish pull it down with her hands”  (Proverbs 14:1).

I marveled at God. He was telling me to be wise, not a fool.

My husband and son had made a mistake.  In their eagerness to go hunting before the sun rose, they left without considering me. I needed to hold my thoughts captive and not let my imagination run wild by rehearsing my pain.

Sometimes I had been known to blow a situation out of proportion in my mind. This time I needed to make a choice to hold my thoughts captive and stop wallowing in a pit of “I deserve better”. Satan wants us to focus on the negative to destroy our relationships and to tear apart our homes, but a wise person focuses on God’s promises and builds their home on forgiveness, kind thoughts, and encouraging words.

Promise from God

“We demolish arguments and every pretension that sets itself up against the knowledge of God, and we take captive every thought to make it obedient to Christ” (2 Corin. 10:5).

Feelings of rejection can often trigger times when we felt abandoned or betrayed. These negative thoughts can lead to anger. Instead of fretting over the past, make an effort to dwell on the good.

4 Steps to Gain Victory Over Negative Thoughts

  1. Refuse to play the offense over and over in your mind. “Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret (or mull it over in your mind)—it leads only to evil” (Psalm 37:8).
  2. Think on God’s precious promises. “He has given us His very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires “(2 Peter 1:4).
  3. Confess your sin of unkind thoughts. “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness” (1 John 1:9).
  4. Praise God that He forgives and forgets your sin. “I, even I, am He who blots out your transgressions, for my own sake, and remembers your sins no more” (Isaiah 43:25).

Prayer to God

Forgiving Father, Thank you that you love me, you show me grace, and forgive me. Thank you that when I confess my negative thoughts that you are faithful and just to forgive me and purify me of all my sin. Thank you that you never forget me. Thank you that you give me your precious promises so that I can focus on your Word instead of turning to bitterness that leads to evil. Help me to memorize your promises so that I may hold my thoughts captive and think on what is right and true that I may remain pure and my relationships will be blessed. Allow me to remember your grace that I may show others grace. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    • Criticism, control, and complacency push spouses into divorce court or the arms of lovers. 1 month ago
    • The desire to be accepted compels many of us to compromise what’s right to do whatever it takes to be loved. amazon.com/Loving-Unlovab… 1 month ago
    • Rejected people react in unlovable ways. Even the fear of rejection will lead people to be rude and aloof in an eff… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago
    • @BillHybels Hearts breaking and crying out together for those who are broken brings a bonding of tears that are never forgotten. 1 month ago
    • RT @BillHybels: A room full of pastors in Addis Ababa prayed for a devastated church in Texas today..."Mourning for those who mourn." Unfo… 1 month ago
