Do You Need Supernatural Strength?

supernatural strengthYou can have God’s power. God gave my husband and me supernatural strength to endure the hardships of a great deal of stress during our 5-year old son’s battle with leukemia and the very real possibility that he might die. God had prepared us as new Christians to trust in Him. He had built our faith during the previous year that my husband was not working. We had seen God provide during that time and He revealed Himself to us as a personal God who loves us. We trusted that God would sustain us whatever the outcome of our son’s diagnosis, whether he was healed here or into eternity with his heavenly Father.

Your Promise from God

“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” Phil. 4:13.

In that verse, as Paul is in prison, he refers to the ability to endure hardships, persevere, and be content in all circumstances. During Connor’s one hundred days of isolation, after His bone marrow transplant, God spoke to my heart through this scripture,

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong (2 Cor. 12:8-11).

There’s power when we surrender to God’s plan. This doesn’t mean we become doormats. God stands for righteousness. As our faithful Father, He has plans for our good, not to harm us, but to give us hope as we follow and seek Him (Jeremiah 29:11-13). We must trust that He loves us and follow His Word in the midst of our pain to experience His power. Jesus surrendered to death on a cross to pay the penalty of our sin and then rose from the dead that we might experience His resurrection power through the pain of this life with the promise of eternal life with Him.

Praise God through this song that He is alive:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_OTz-lpDjw

Whatever you face today Jesus rose from the dead to bring you life. Surrender yourself to God’s plan and purpose. Relinquish control to experience His power in your life. He is alive in you when you have a relationship with Him. You can overcome all adversity as you let Him live through you. Surrender is about your devotion to God Himself and nothing else.

Pray to God

Powerful and all sustaining God, Thank you that you love me, that Jesus died for me, and that He rose from the dead. Thank you that you are alive and you are personal. Thank you that you give me the gift of the Holy Spirit to empower me in all circumstances as I surrender to you. Your power is made perfect in my weakness to be strengthened by you. I look to Jesus as my example of surrender by saying, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup [of suffering] be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will” (Matthew 26:39). Help me to be humble, to get rid of all pride, bitterness, and fear that I might be completely obedient to you. With a surrendered heart, work in me and through me to demonstrate your power. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

