Are you grieving the Holy Spirit?

grieveing HSAre you grieving the Holy Spirit that is in you? When you have unforgiveness and bitterness in your heart you are interfering with your relationship with God and with others. To please God you must forgive.

God’s promise

“Do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.” Eph. 4:30-32

Praise God

Sing this song on forgiveness by Matthew West: http://www.godtube.com/watch/?v=WLPKY7NX

Pray to God

Dear Father God, thank you for loving me by sending your Son, Jesus, to die in my place on the cross. By His blood I am completely forgiven of all my sin. Yet I still have the sin of bitterness and anger toward _________ who hurt me. I realize my hard heart has grieved the Holy Spirit that takes residence in me when I invited Jesus to save me from my sin and to follow Him. This root of bitterness is causing me to miss out on the abundant life that you have for me. Please help me to forgive and show grace to __________ as you have shown me grace by forgiving me. You say that I am blessed when I follow your ways. Your ways bring peace and joy. I choose right now to forgive ____________ and ask that you will bless ___________ with an understanding of your unconditional love. May they know you and love you all the days of their lives. Out of obedience to you let me be reconciled to this person in spirit so that I might be right with you, even though I might never see them again. Set me free to experience you in ways I cannot imagine as I forgive in Jesus name I pray. Amen.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

