Family Focus

familyOur families are a gift. We must do everything we can in our power to protect the unity of our family.

There is a battle waging against our families. The enemy wants to destroy our homes, but Jesus is victorious. He can save our families. He can restore our relationships. He can resurrect our marriages. He can bring back our wayward children.

Our job as a parent is to protect our children to guide their path with the Word of truth. Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. Only through me can you come to the Father.” Jesus is truth, the very Word of God. He came to save us from our sinful, selfish nature and reconcile us to God the Father and to the people in our lives.

Jesus can heal. He healed two thousand years ago and He is healing today. He rose from the dead and is alive. There is power in His resurrection. Call out in the name of Jesus. There is power in His name. Surrender to God’s will, humble yourself, confess your sin, and ask for a miracle of reconciliation if you are struggling in your marriage. Seek His Word for guidance and let Him speak to you.

When I cried out to God for direction in my marriage. I opened the Bible to Joshua chapter six reading about how God tore down the walls of Jericho, a city filled with evil. The lies of the enemy were causing huge walls of division in my home. I read, “Then the LORD said to Joshua, march around the city once with all the armed men. Do this for six days. Have seven priests carry trumpets of rams’ horns in front of the ark. On the seventh day, march around the city seven times… then the wall of the city will collapse.”

In my spirit I knew God was telling me to march around the outside walls of my home seven days in a row and on the last day seven times. This may sound crazy, but I had to be obedient to what I felt God wanted me to do.

I awoke early each morning beginning on Monday when my husband happened to be out of town for business. Raising my hands I called out on the Lord to deliver my family from evil, to break down the walls of bitterness, unforgiveness, and anger. I prayed for restoration and healing in my marriage and in the relationships with my children.

I felt awkward as I feared my neighbors might see me at six in the morning with my hands raised high, mumbling prayers to myself. But I decided it was more important to be obedient to what God told me to do than worry about what the neighbors might think of me.

On the seventh day I walked around my house seven times. Each time I went around I set a large stone by the gate as an alter to the Lord and to be honest as a reminder of how many times I went around. After my final lap, with hands held high, I bowed down on my knees at my back porch begging God for deliverance.

As I finished praying I noticed an image through the window of my back door. There was my husband looking at me shaking his head. When I went inside Mark said, “That was weird.”

I chuckled and replied, “Well, I don’t think it’s weird praying for my family.” He shrugged his shoulders and walked out of the room.

A couple of weeks later the walls of our hearts crumbled as we met with the pastor of our church. My prayer was answered as we began to get counseling from a Christian counselor that offered us wisdom and understanding of our problems. We gained an appreciation for one another and the tools we needed to better communicate.

God is faithful. We must make every effort to follow Him and be sensitive to his leading as we read the Word of God. Even if it means raising our hands to pray for deliverance of the spirit of unforgiveness and bitterness that permeates the walls of our hearts.

Our families are a precious gift to be protected. We must make every effort to create unity and peace in our homes. As a parent we must commit to pray for our spouse and our children. This is the greatest gift we can give them. “Pour out your heart like water before the face of the Lord. Lift your hands toward Him for the life of your young children,” (Lamentations 2:19).

God's Word To Live By:

Matthew 21:22
If you believe, you will receive whatever you ask for in prayer.

Matthew 26:41
Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the body is weak. 

Luke 6:28
Bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. Then Jesus told his disciples a parable that they should always pray and not give up.

Romans 12:12
Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Donna

     /  March 14, 2013

    Wonderful, wonderful post! You cracked me up as I can picture you and Mark. Love your obedience and trust!

    Reply
    • Thanks Donna! Looking back to that time when I marched around the outside of my house makes me laugh too. It is amazing how God honors our obedience to pray. I find it very important to continue to lift up my hands and pray throughout my home for those strongholds of the enemy to be broken. When I do, it’s amazing what God does.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    • Criticism, control, and complacency push spouses into divorce court or the arms of lovers. 1 month ago
    • The desire to be accepted compels many of us to compromise what’s right to do whatever it takes to be loved. amazon.com/Loving-Unlovab… 1 month ago
    • Rejected people react in unlovable ways. Even the fear of rejection will lead people to be rude and aloof in an eff… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago
    • @BillHybels Hearts breaking and crying out together for those who are broken brings a bonding of tears that are never forgotten. 1 month ago
    • RT @BillHybels: A room full of pastors in Addis Ababa prayed for a devastated church in Texas today..."Mourning for those who mourn." Unfo… 1 month ago
