Abortion Answers

“You’re pregnant.” The words stunned me. How could this happen to me? I was on the pill. Confused, I needed time to think. Actually, I needed to tell my boyfriend and see what he would say.

When I told Mark the news, he was calm. He supported me in my choice, but warned that I would likely be unable to accomplish my education and career goals if I had a baby.

At 20, I had never thought about having children. We had only been going out for two months. The more I contemplated the pregnancy and the possibility of marriage, the more determined I was not to sacrifice all my dreams. Unsure if I loved Mark and unable to face the shame of getting married because I was pregnant, I decided to solve the problem by getting an abortion.

A year and a half later, I married the father of my aborted baby.

For years we never discussed the abortion. As each year passed I lived with shame. I avoided conversations that had to do with abortion. I never told my secret. I went into a depression that impacted my relationships with everyone.

For years I justified my choice to abort my baby, because I thought I knew what was best for me. Abortion was never best for me, nor is it best for other women, and it is certainly not best for the baby. There are consequences we suffer. I thought since abortion was legal that abortion was right. I was dead wrong!

I never knew that all forty-six human chromosomes were present at the moment of conception, that my baby’s hair, eyes and skin color were already determined in her unique DNA. I never realized that twenty-two days after fertilization my baby’s heart was beating. At ten weeks old she was two-and-a-half inches tall with brain waves, a unique set of fingerprints, all her body systems were formed, and she was sensitive to touch.

Many women escape through drugs and alcohol, but I put all my time into work. I tried to gain my self-worth through my identity in my career. Later I neglected my children by keeping busy. My four-year-old daughter said, “Mommy you love this house more than you love me.” My feelings of guilt, shame and inadequacy as a mother had kept me emotionally detached.
Planned Parenthood never told me the truth.

Jane Roe QuoteMost abortion clinics will not tell you the facts. Abortion clinics want to make money. The more abortions they perform the more money they make. It’s simple. They are in the business of making money by killing babies. The Bible says in Jeremiah 22:17, “But your eyes and your heart are set only on dishonest gain, on shedding innocent blood and on oppression and extortion.”

Since Roe v. Wade was passed to legalize abortion, fifty million abortions have occurred in the United States. In the last hour 185 abortions were performed. Every minute, two babies are killed. 3,70 babies are aborted each day.

Roe v. Wade was based on a lie.
An attorney used Norma McCorvey, a pregnant woman, to get abortion passed by testifying to the Supreme Court that Norma was gang raped. Norma was never raped! She became a Christian and she tells the truth in her book “Won by Love.”

If you had an abortion consider the following steps to heal:

  • Write a letter to the person who influenced your decision to abort. Often this person is a parent or boyfriend. Sometimes it is even someone who may not have known you were pregnant. Maybe you feared the consequence of carrying your baby to term, convinced that you had no choice. Pour out your heart. (Do not give the letter to that person, but it may inspire a conversation)
  • Write a letter to God. If you’re angry, be honest. Yell, scream, cry… nothing will change His love for you.
  • Write a letter to your baby. He or she is in heaven in a much better place.
  • Ask for forgiveness and invite Jesus into your heart. Know that Jesus died for your choice to abort your child. He loves you and you are forgiven.
  • Go to a Christian Post Abortion workshop or Bible study. Take the next step and find healing.

God wants to heal us from our abortion. We must confess our sin, repent and forgive ourselves. Through a personal relationship with Jesus we look forward in hope to a brighter day, a day when we will be united with our precious child. Reunited with the child we never had the opportunity to know.
Step out of the darkness of shame into the light. Experience fellowship with God and the people in your life, be healed, and be used to offer hope to others.

Parents Refuse to Abort Their Sick Baby – These Are His Last Precious Moments from joylights on GodTube.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. KIrsten,

    Thanks for being open about your abortion. I have found when I share my story others are helped and even may sigh from relief in knowing they aren’t alone. God so desires to heal our brokenness and nothing is too big for Him. That one act changes a life forever. I look forward to meeting my child in heaven!
    Sharon

    Reply
    • Sharon, Praising God that He has healed you so that you can talk about your abortion to minister to the hearts of other women. They need to know that we are impacted by the choice we chose, but that we have a God of grace who forgives and heals when we ask. Thanks Sharon for sharing. I’m proud of you!

      Reply
  2. Donna

     /  December 22, 2012

    Thank you for being so honest and reaching out to people about what no one wants to talk about. Women need to know God loves them no matter what they’ve done and the lie that abortion is a “woman’s health issue”.

    Reply
    • Thanks Donna for your encouragement to share on matters that touch the lives of many women, but so often keep us hiding in shame. The issue of abortion is one that many don’t talk about because it’s painful to remember that child whom we extracted from our womb with the hope that the problem would go away. What most of us don’t realize is that the memory never goes completely away. We wonder what he or she would be like today if we knew him or her. We wonder what our life would be like. But the truth is that we made that decision usually out of fear of the unknown, fear of condemnation, fear of failure, and fear of confrontation. Fortunately we have a heavenly Father who forgives and heals us for that choice. When we accept the blood of His sacrifice poured out on our behalf we are washed clean of our murder. Jesus paid the price that we may live and someday see the child or children that we sacrificed for our convenience. We live today with the hope of heaven. And just maybe it was that decision that brought us to our knees, that showed us that we needed a Savior, that we needed to grieve, mourn and wail our doublemindedness and repent. When we humble ourselves He lifts us up out of the miry pit and gives us the abundant life with purpose that we long for. God bless you my sister.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

