Conquering Fear

conquering fearUnemployment. Marriage struggles. Cancer. Tomorrow is uncertain, but what we do today can bring hope for tomorrow. Diagnosed with a rare form of leukemia, I was uncertain if my five-year-old son would live or die. Through my son’s battle with cancer, my husband quitting work and not looking for another job for almost a year, my family’s move to a new country, and many other struggles, I learned that the Creator of the heavens and earth is able to do far more than we can ever ask or imagine.

The choice is ours. We can either live in fear about tomorrow or we can live victoriously each day, turning to God, trusting Him, and anticipating His resurrection power in our circumstance.

Today as the Faith Coach the question I’m most commonly asked is, “How can I overcome my fear?” For this reason I want to share with you nine Biblical principles that have helped me. When I clung to God’s word He gave me peace, comfort and strength. He will do the same for you. It is God’s promise to each of us who believes.

“For I am the LORD, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.” (Isaiah 41:13).

Nine Biblical Steps to Conquer Fear:

  1. Believe God loves you and wants the best for you. “In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:37-39).
  2. Seek God with all your heart. “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13). “If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land.” (2 Chronicles 7:14).
  3. Confess your sin of unbelief and fear. Anxiety and fear is rooted in unbelief that God is able to do what he says. “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.” (Joshua 1:9). “See to it, brothers, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God.” (Hebrews 3:12). “Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; do not fret when men succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes. Refrain from anger and turn from wrath; do not fret—it leads only to evil.” (Psalm 37:7-8).
  4. Praise God with a thankful heart. “Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” (Phil. 4:4-7).
  5. Claim God’s promises and read his word. “The LORD is faithful to all his promises and loving toward all he has made” (Psalm 145:13). “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path” (Psalm 119:105). “May your unfailing love be my comfort, according to your promise to your servant” (Psalm 119:76).
  6. Surrender to God’s will. Our example should be Jesus as he prayed, “Father, if you are willing, take this cup (of suffering) from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.” (Luke 22:42). His resolve to surrender to the Father’s plan served a greater purpose to save all of humanity from the pit of hell, the eternal separation from a holy God, by taking our sin upon himself through his death on a cross.
  7. Obey God’s word. “Finally, all of you, live in harmony with one another; be sympathetic, love as brothers, be compassionate and humble. Do not repay evil with evil or insult with insult, but with blessing, because to this you were called so that you may inherit a blessing. For whoever would love life and see good days must keep his tongue from evil and his lips from deceitful speech. He must turn from evil and do good; he must seek peace and pursue it. For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and his ears are attentive to their prayer, but the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.” (1 Peter 3:8-12)
  8. Trust God with your situation. “Blessed is the man who makes the LORD his trust, who does not look to the proud, to those who turn aside to false gods. Many, O LORD my God, are the wonders you have done. The things you planned for us no one can recount to you; were I to speak and tell of them, they would be too many to declare” (Psalm 40:4-5). “You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in you” (Isaiah 26:3).
  9. Serve God. Focus on others instead of your problem. “You, my brothers, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge the sinful nature; rather, serve one another in love.” (Galatians 5:13). “Serve wholeheartedly, as if you were serving the Lord, not men.” (Ephesians 6:7). “Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.” (1 Peter 4:10).

When we are in the midst of our struggles things can seem hopeless, with no way out, and we may feel that we are doomed. Yet our struggles can be a blessing. They force us to look at our life. My challenges prompted me to draw close to God, change my old ways of unhealthy behavior, and become more compassionate toward others. God delivered me out of the pit of despair to experience Him personally and testify to His faithfulness.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

