Start Walking

start walkingSeveral years ago I began walking with a neighbor friend who would say things like, “Isn’t God amazing? Just look at His creation.” I thought this woman was a little coo coo. But then as she talked more about her love for Jesus, and I saw her love for people, I wanted to know how to love that way.

My quest took me on an adventure that gave me an amazing capacity to love that I never knew before, an overwhelming peace during my trials, strength to endure temptation, and a joy that can only be explained as Christ in me.

You might be asking, what are you talking about? That sounds weird. If you’re investigating what it means to be a Christian you’re in the right place. This website will share God stories to help you on your journey. God speaks to us through His Word, prayer, people, and circumstances. God offers a peace when we cling to His promises. When you seek God with all your heart you will find him. Ask Jesus to reveal himself. I guarantee He will.

You may already believe Jesus died on the cross for your sin, that He paid the price for all your wrong doings so you can stand before a Holy God cleansed by His blood. If you believe Jesus rose from the dead then invite Jesus into your heart. You will receive from him the gift of the Holy Spirit to live in you. Once you have Christ in your life you will begin an adventure like no other.

As you join me on this walk to know Jesus you may think I’m a little coo coo, as I thought my friend was. But that’s alright. I am a little crazy! Crazy in love with Jesus. Let me take you on my journey of how I came to know a personal loving God.

Start your walk by doing the following:

Before my walk in the morning I went into my closet to pray. Choose a quiet place to talk with God. As a guide use the acronym of A.C.T.S.

Walking Train TracksAdoration: We have an all-powerful and mighty God who deserves our reverence and praise. The Bible says in Psalm 150:2, Praise him for his acts of power; praise him for his surpassing greatness.

Confession: As we ask God to reveal our sins and wrong thoughts and behavior we become more aware of our sin. God wants to change us into the image of his Son, to be more Christlike. 1 John 1:9 says, “When we confess our sins He is faithful and just to forgive us our sin and purify us of all unrighteousness.”

Thanksgiving: Thank God for all that He has done in your life. Focus on the many blessings instead of the problems. A thankful heart can change our outlook on life from being critical to being compassionate. Be grateful. Write a list of all your blessings: food, shelter, children, flowers, butterflies, chocolate, coffee, friends…

Supplication: This is the part of your prayer where you present your requests according to God’s will. Ask for him to meet your needs, the needs of your family, friends, the leaders of our country. Whatever your needs are pray specifically. Ask for clear direction, for answers, for healing, for peace, for wisdom, to draw close to Jesus, to know Him intimately. Pray with a surrendered heart for God’s will to be done in your life.

  • Listen.  Ask God to speak to you. Journal what He tells you through your thoughts and opening the Bible.
  • Read the Word of God everyday. I suggest starting with the book of John. Also, read a devotional like Experiencing God Day by Day to supplement and guide your Bible reading (not to take the place of reading your Bible).
  • Talk to God all day long and listen to His small voice. Watch Him at work in your life.
  • Find a Bible teaching Christian church that believes Jesus is the Son of God, died for the forgiveness of our sins, and rose from the dead. Our God is alive!
  • Study God’s Word with other Christians who want to learn more about God and follow Him. Romans 15:4 “For everything that was written in the past was written to teach us, so that through endurance and the encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.”
  • Meditate on his promises. When we know God’s promises and his word we have peace. When times are difficult you will have his word hidden in your heart to cling to. His word will sustain you.
  • Trust God with your life and the lives of your loved ones. Proverbs 3:5,6 “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”

If you take these steps you’re on the right path. On your walk you never know what’s around the corner, so be prepared by knowing God and His Word. I had no idea that my son would battle cancer two years after becoming a Christian. Thankfully I was prepared with God’s promises.

Tomorrow is uncertain. But I do know with assurance that I will be with Jesus in heaven when he decides to take me home. I know that I am forgiven and set free from the bondage of shame. And I know that I am a new creation. May God bless you on your walk to discover a personal relationship with a living personal God.

God’s Word To Live By:
Proverbs 28:13
He who conceals his sins does not prosper, but whoever confesses and renounces them finds mercy.

Philippians 4:6
Do no be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.           

Psalm 119:147
I rise before dawn and cry for help; I have put my hope in your word.

Psalm 9:10
Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.

James 1:25
But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    • Criticism, control, and complacency push spouses into divorce court or the arms of lovers. 1 month ago
    • The desire to be accepted compels many of us to compromise what’s right to do whatever it takes to be loved. amazon.com/Loving-Unlovab… 1 month ago
    • Rejected people react in unlovable ways. Even the fear of rejection will lead people to be rude and aloof in an eff… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago
    • @BillHybels Hearts breaking and crying out together for those who are broken brings a bonding of tears that are never forgotten. 1 month ago
    • RT @BillHybels: A room full of pastors in Addis Ababa prayed for a devastated church in Texas today..."Mourning for those who mourn." Unfo… 1 month ago
