Outside My Comfort Zone

outside of comfort zoneMark came home one Friday night, excited about an opportunity to manage a cell-phone project in Vancouver, Canada. The position was a two-and-a-half year contract with his current company that would entail uprooting our four children.

“Canada?” Comfortable in my current surroundings I said, “I don’t want to move to Canada.”

I enjoyed my community, my church, my daily walks with my friend, and my children were happy in their schools. The last thing I wanted was to move. Yet something inside nudged me to pray before rejecting the idea completely.

Mark’s work gave us the weekend to decide and he left the decision up to me. My second and fourth grade sons, Connor and Cameron begged, “Can we please move to Canada?” They saw how easy the transition had been for the neighbor boys who had come from Australia with their father’s company.

Over the weekend I begged God to guide me. Sunday morning I went to my bookshelf and perused the books. I reached for Experiencing God Day by Day, by Henry Blackaby, a devotional I had read frequently at one time. I turned to a random page. There on top of the page was a scripture from Genesis chapter twelve. God told Abraham to leave his country and go to a new nation.

That I would read this scripture after seeking God for direction, I knew He was talking to me. I continued to read about how God promised to bless Abraham and others through him by his act of obedience.

Clearly God was guiding me to move my family and follow my husband on this adventure to a new country. In order to obey God, I surrendered my will to stay in my comfortable lifestyle.

The next three months as I prepared for our move, I begged God to guide my path, to go before me, and show me where he wanted us to live. There were certain things that were important to me. I wanted a family community, good schools, and a Bible teaching church. I wrote a list of the desires of my heart including that the house had a backyard with trees to nurture me. I claimed the promise in His Word that when we delight in the Lord and follow him he will give us the desires of our heart.

One evening after I spoke to a woman on the phone about a house for rent and she e-mailed me pictures. My family stood at the computer as we opened the file. On the screen flashed a bedroom painted lavender, the same color as Kayla’s room. Immediately Kayla announced, “That’s my room!”

Morning Run Tree Lined PathAmazed at God’s provision I said to Kayla, “That’s how much God loves you. He is giving you a lavender room in Canada like you have now.” Shaking my head in disbelief I realized that my God cares about the littlest details that will show Kayla His love for her.

As the next picture flashed across the computer screen the boys pointed with excitement, “There’s a movie theater.” Mark and the boys announced unanimously, “We have to rent this house!”

When my husband clicked on the next picture my heart burst with joy. I could not believe what I was seeing. There on the computer screen was a beautiful lush backyard with gorgeous rhododendron flowers, bordered by a green belt walking area with huge evergreen trees. Tears filled my eyes as my Jesus who loves me so much would give me the desire of my heart. In this home I could enjoy His amazing creation every day by gazing out my back door.

The final picture was the master bedroom that was painted a magenta mauve color, which most people would object to. However my comforter was a white eyelet cotton accented with various shades of pink. We also had magenta pillows and matching accessories in our current room.

God loves my family. He worked out every detail including that my furniture fit easily into every room. We were blessed that the owner of the property who was also open to painting my other daughter’s room hot pink to go with her accessories.

I had peace about my decision to move my family to another country. Everything fell into place. I found a house to rent, a church to attend, and schools for my children to attend even before my first visit to Canada.

Like Abraham in Genesis 12, I knew that God was preparing the way for me and would bless this journey. I submitted and moved out of my comfort zone. When I did, I realized God was my comfort zone. He will always provide the comfort my spirit needs to do what He asks.

God’s Word To Live By:

Genesis 12:1
The Lord had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you.

Deuteronomy 30:8-10
You will again obey the LORD and follow all his commands I am giving you today. Then the LORD your God will make you most prosperous in all the work of your hands and in the fruit of your womb, the young of your livestock and the crops of your land. The LORD will again delight in you and make you prosperous, just as he delighted in your fathers, if you obey the LORD your God and keep his commands and decrees that are written in this Book of the Law and turn to the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul.

John 14:15-17
If you love me, you will obey what I command. And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Counselor to be with you forever— the Spirit of truth. The world cannot accept him, because it neither sees him nor knows him. But you know him, for he lives with you and will be in you.

Hebrews 11:8-9
By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going. By faith he made his home in the promised land like a stranger in a foreign country; he lived in tents, as did Isaac and Jacob, who were heirs with him of the same promise.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    • Criticism, control, and complacency push spouses into divorce court or the arms of lovers. 1 month ago
    • The desire to be accepted compels many of us to compromise what’s right to do whatever it takes to be loved. amazon.com/Loving-Unlovab… 1 month ago
    • Rejected people react in unlovable ways. Even the fear of rejection will lead people to be rude and aloof in an eff… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago
    • @BillHybels Hearts breaking and crying out together for those who are broken brings a bonding of tears that are never forgotten. 1 month ago
    • RT @BillHybels: A room full of pastors in Addis Ababa prayed for a devastated church in Texas today..."Mourning for those who mourn." Unfo… 1 month ago
