Power of Jesus Name

power in the nameWalking in the mountains of Canada with a new friend at a woman’s retreat, we heard a scratching sound. We looked down the gully to see a mother bear on her hind legs, while her cub scurried up a nearby tree.

Since moving to Canada, I had wanted to see a bear in the wild. I know stood motionless as I locked eyes with the bear about forty feet away and marveled at the sight of this amazing creature. My friend nudged me in a panic, “We have to get out of here fast.”

Knowing what I know about the powerful name of Jesus I immediately raised my hands and claimed protection in Jesus name. I repeated over and over, “In Jesus name leave us alone. Jesus protect us.” I turned to my new friend, “Isn’t God amazing? I’ve wanted to see a bear.”

Becky tugged on my shirt, “We should get out of here.”

Slowly we backed up as I continued to call on the name of Jesus, still raising my hands high in the air.

The bear remained with her cub without chasing us down. I’m sure Becky must have thought I was a little crazy, but better crazy than eaten alive by a bear. I think back to that time, with what I now know about bear attacks and realize that Jesus protected us by His powerful name.

In the Bible the apostles had power to preach the word of God with boldness. They healed the sick in Jesus name. All was done to the glory of God through the power of the Holy Spirit that lived in them. We have power available when we invite Jesus into our hearts. We receive the gift of the Holy Spirit. Christ lives in us, the hope of glory, (Colossians 1:27).

Do you have the Holy Spirit promised through His word? If you do, fear not but call on the name of Jesus to experience His power, strength and protection in your life. God promises, “The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and are safe.” (Proverbs 18:10).

If you have never invited Jesus into your life, repent of your sin. Ask Jesus to forgive you, since he took all of your sin and mine upon himself when he was nailed to the cross. He died, went to hell on our behalf, and rose from the dead. He is alive and he gives us the gift of the Holy Spirit to dwell in us for comfort, protection, and guidance.

Say this simple prayer: Dear Jesus, please forgive me for all my wrong doings, for my sin, and for turning away from you. I want you to save me from the eternal consequences of my bad choices. Save me and live in me. Help me to develop a close loving relationship with you. In Jesus name I pray.

Learn how you can start your walk through this life with a personal relationship with a Living God: the Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

God’s Word To Live By:

Proverbs 18:10
The name of the Lord is a strong tower; the righteous run to it and are safe.

Philippians 4:13
We can do all things through Christ who strengthens us.

Joshua 1:9
God says, “Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified or discouraged for I am with you wherever you go.”

1 Thessalonians 3:13
May he strengthen your hearts so that you will be blameless and holy in the presence of our God and Father when our Lord Jesus comes with all his holy ones.

Romans 15:13
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Colossians 1:27
To them God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of the glory.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

