Purpose in Suffering

purposehairAt the hair salon one day, I was introduced to the next client who had arrived early. I discovered that the woman had a 16-year-old daughter at Children’s Hospital. She was suffering the same rare form of leukemia my son, Connor, had suffered. I immediately recognized this God appointment.

Kathy shared how her daughter, Roxanne, had lost all her long beautiful hair, that she spent her sixteenth birthday at the hospital, and had been in the hospital for months.

I boldly explained to Kathy how I surrendered Connor to God. I had studied the book of Genesis where Abraham was asked by God to surrender his only son, Isaac, as a sacrifice on an altar. Through this test Abraham realized and demonstrated how much he trusted and loved God. God already knew Abraham’s heart but when Abraham obeyed God and surrendered his son to God’s will, God provided a ram to be sacrificed instead. His son was spared and the Bible declares Abraham righteous for trusting and obeying God.

When Connor was suffering, I had prayed for healing. I also had prayed that not my will be done, but God’s will be done. It was the same prayer Jesus had prayed in the garden before his death and resurrection. Following these Biblical examples, I trusted that God had a perfect plan for both Connor’s life and mine.

As my hair stylist finished up, I shared the story of Christmas day when I received a very special gift from God. I rejoiced in the testimony of how thirteen days later, Connor was released to spend the remaining one hundred days of isolation at home. Released from the hospital sooner than any child had ever left after a bone marrow transplant, I knew Jesus, working through doctors and modern medicine, had healed my son.
I professed boldly, “Jesus healed two thousand years ago. He died on the cross for our sins and rose from the dead to conquer death.” I said to Kathy, “Jesus is alive today and he can heal Roxanne.”

Kathy never said much. She mostly listened. I sensed her despair as Roxanne’s condition seemed hopeless. We said our good-byes and I tried to encourage her by telling her I would pray for her daughter.

After I left the hair salon, God put it on my heart to go to Children’s Hospital and meet Roxanne. I felt awkward and uncomfortable, but I knew God was telling me to lay hands on her and pray. Out of obedience I went, fighting the urge to turn the car around as I drove down the highway. When I arrived, I had the amazing privilege of meeting this precious young lady and another teenage girl who Roxanne had met in the hospital. I prayed for both of them.

A few months later I ran into Kathy at Costco. She told me that Roxanne had contracted a flesh-eating bacteria. The doctors finally confessed that Roxanne was not responding to treatment and there was nothing more they could do for her. She would eventually die.
In the meantime, she suffered terribly. Kathy told me how she could hardly stand to see her daughter go through this kind of pain and how she finally fell to her knees and asked God to take her little girl to heaven. Out of love and knowing what was best for Roxanne, Kathy unselfishly surrendered her daughter.

“Miraculously,” Kathy exclaimed, “God healed Roxanne and the doctors cannot explain how she got better.” Beaming with joy, she said, “She’s healed!”

We praised God! Hugging one another, we rejoiced in the healing power of Jesus right there, in the middle of Costco. Kathy confessed that she never would have known how to surrender her daughter to God had I not shared about my journey with Connor.

Today I praise God that He allowed me to go through my suffering for a purpose. Because of my experience facing Connor’s leukemia, I could share with a mom who needed to surrender her daughter. Everything in our lives can glorify God if we choose to look at our circumstances from His perspective. God wants our surrendered hearts. More than anything He wants a relationship with us. He will allow anything to get our attention.

According to the Bible God did not make Connor sick, but God did allow it to happen. He is all powerful. In the book of Job, Satan attacked God’s faithful servant. Satan declared that Job was a faithful follower only because God had blessed him with riches. God allowed Job to be tested by Satan and he remained faithful. Eventually God restored twice as much to Job.

During my suffering I wanted to remain faithful to God. I stayed focused on my relationship with Him to inherit His blessings. When we turn to God through our pain and suffering, He is faithful to bring comfort, peace, and strength through the outcome of our circumstance. He alone is sufficient. We must surrender to His will, not our own self-serving agenda.

What are you suffering from? Your past or present circumstances can be used to help others. You will feel blessed when you serve the living God. If you need healing, read the steps in Healing Happens.

God can use you if you are willing to be transparent and to reach out to serve others. Our purpose here on earth is to be in a relationship with God and to glorify Him through what we say and do. God will open conversations for you to share with others about what God has done in your life. He wants to use you to bring people to the One who gives hope, Jesus Christ.
If you feel led by God, pass this website along to someone you know who needs hope in their uncertain times. As you comfort others in their pain you will discover God’s amazing joy, peace and purpose for your life.

God will wast nothing. He redeems our brokenness. He restores and heals. God gives us purpose and meaning through struggles we endure. Consider what God wants to do in you and through you. Seek Him with all your heart and He will show you where to go and how to bless someone who needs hope.

Challenging Question: What is your purpose? WHAT IS YOUR PURPOSE? BE INSPIRED BY NICK
God’s Word To Live By:
2 Corinthians 1:3-4
Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.
Romans 8:28
And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

According to the Bible God did not make Connor sick, but God did allow it to happen. He is all powerful. In the book of Job, Satan attacked God’s faithful servant. Satan declared that Job was a faithful follower only because God had blessed him with riches. God allowed Job to be tested by Satan and he remained faithful. Eventually God restored twice as much to Job.

During my suffering I wanted to remain faithful to God. I stayed focused on my relationship with Him to inherit His blessings. When we turn to God through our pain and suffering, He is faithful to bring comfort, peace, and strength through the outcome of our circumstance. He alone is sufficient. We must surrender to His will, not our own self-serving agenda.

What are you suffering from? Your past or present circumstances can be used to help others. You will feel blessed when you serve the living God. If you need healing, read the steps in Healing Happens.

God can use you if you are willing to be transparent and to reach out to serve others. Our purpose here on earth is to be in a relationship with God and to glorify Him through what we say and do. God will open conversations for you to share with others about what God has done in your life. He wants to use you to bring people to the One who gives hope, Jesus Christ.

If you feel led by God, pass this website along to someone you know who needs hope in their uncertain times. As you comfort others in their pain you will discover God’s amazing joy, peace and purpose for your life.

God will wast nothing. He redeems our brokenness. He restores and heals. God gives us purpose and meaning through struggles we endure. Consider what God wants to do in you and through you. Seek Him with all your heart and He will show you where to go and how to bless someone who needs hope.

What is your purpose? How can God use you and your sufferings to help others?

BE INSPIRED BY NICK

God’s Word To Live By:

2 Corinthians 1:3-4
Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.

Romans 8:28
And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

