My Husband Quit

Four kids, a submissive wife, a new five bedroom home, and a management position at a growing company. I thought, What more could a man want? But my husband was miserable.

One day my husband announced his intended resignation without having another job. When I questioned his decision Mark’s angry response revealed the communication problems we had in our marriage. I thought certainly he should wait until he found another job, but God had a plan through Mark’s unemployment.

Mark’s lack of interest in pursuing work caused me to resent and disrespect him. Our communication problems intensified with him home twenty-four hours a day. I wanted him to find a job so I no longer had to deal with him. But God wanted to change my heart, my motives, and my behavior as I trusted my Savior. I tried to see the blessings: He was home to care for the kids, while I went to Bible study. I had time to write, which took me through a process of healing my past pain to reconcile my relationships.

For the year that Mark was unemployed we used his retirement account to live on. As each month passed that my husband did not look for work I feared that we would lose everything. I faced the possible shame of selling my house. I considered getting a job, yet I knew in my heart that God wanted me home raising our four small children.

In desperation I cried out to God. And through those tears God began to reveal Himself to me. But not the way I wanted. My desire was for my husband to get a job quickly. But my wise friend rebuked me, saying, “We should pray for Mark to know Jesus before we pray for him to find another job.” Her words penetrated my heart, convicting me to surrender my house and all my possessions to God’s plan for my life and pray for my husband to know God. When I did, God began to move.

As I prayed I saw God’s faithfulness. He answered my prayer that my husband go with me to a marriage retreat. Two weeks later God answered my prayer for Mark to attend a men’s retreat. At the retreat He answered my prayer for my analytical husband to know Jesus as his Savior. God built my faith by answering my prayers. I thank God that I had the faith to pray.

When Mark returned home from the men’s retreat God gave me a glimpse of what my marriage would become. Mark came home a different man. This man made me the focus of his attention instead of the children. This man had tremendous patience and kindness toward me and the kids. This man went out of his way to bring me a Starbucks in the morning. This man was filled with the Spirit of God when he invited Jesus into his life.

What I hadn’t expected was that God would have my husband stay home for a year to study the Bible; to understand God’s word, and make his priorities align with God. Mark no longer wanted to be a workaholic. He wanted to make God first, his wife second, and his children after me. Mark realized that he had always made his career his primary focus. In his next job he wanted to use his gifts and talents to work hard as though working for the Lord, but his relationship with God and his family would come first.

God didn’t answer my prayers the way I wanted Him to. But His way provided many more blessings than my way would have.

Is there something that you need to surrender control of to God? Is there someone you are resenting or angry with because of choices they are making? Release it to God and watch Him move!

God’s Word To Live By:

Psalm 9:10
Those who know your name will trust in you, for you, LORD, have never forsaken those who seek you.

Proverbs 3:5-7
Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding, but in all your ways acknowledge Him and He would make your path straight.

Psalm 22:8
He trusts in the LORD; let the LORD rescue him. Let him deliver him, since he delights in him.

Psalm 28:7
The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.

Psalm 91:2
I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”

Psalm 111:7
The works of his hands are faithful and just; all his precepts are trustworthy.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

