A Mother’s 401K Plan

A mother’s job requires a wide range of skills, endless hours with no salary, and often no appreciation or recognition. In times past a mother’s children were her 401K plan. A plan that unlike today’s market, came with big returns. She often had many children to invest in. Her rewards came at the end of her life when her children would care for her as she had cared for them.

Today many mothers are divided between responsibilities of a career and managing their home. When I started my family I worked full-time. I saw my mother work to provide a stable income for our family and that’s what I knew.

My job as a Nordstrom buyer was my identity. When I lost my job after the birth of my second child, my pride kept me from taking a job of lower position. Instead I came home to raise my daughters and experienced the blessing of raising my children without having to work outside the home.

During this time, God pursued me by bringing Christian women into my life. They became my role models on how to be a mom. My focus changed from a desire to make a difference in the fashion industry to making a difference in the lives of my children. I discovered a new identity in Christ that I may have missed had I not left the demands of work and shifted my focus to God.

Living on one income has been difficult at times. Cutting our income in half meant drastically reducing our spending.

Here are some ideas for socializing and enjoying your days on a budget:

  • Avoid shopping centers to keep from being tempted to spend money you don’t have
  • Slow down and enjoy the moment
  • Find free entertainment at the park
  • Connect with other stay at home moms through playgroups and church
  • Get creative with a hobby: painting, photo albums, writing, reading
  • Study God’s Word with other women and become better equipped to watch for and receive all the blessings of God

We were blessed that my husband’s income increased throughout the years and I was able to support him by being at home. My heart goes out to women who must work to support their families financially. Many single moms work all day to then come home to fix dinner, help with homework, be an emotional support, and be the spiritual leader of their home. Others need the second income to make ends meet and do the same. I know God empowers these women supernaturally. Claim the promise of Philippians 4:13, that “[You] can do all things through Christ who strengthens [you].”

God’s Word To Live By:

Proverbs 31:27-30
She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: “Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.” Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.

Deuteronomy 5:29
Oh, that their hearts would be inclined to fear me and keep all my commands always, so that it might go well with them and their children forever.

Deuteronomy 6:7
Impress (the Commandments) on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

Proverbs 14:26
He who fears the LORD has a secure fortress, and for his children it will be a refuge.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

