Why Church?

At sixteen, when my parents divorced, I walked away from the church. During those eighteen years away from the church I made many choices that led me down the wide road of destruction. Today I ponder, would I have made better choices for my life if I stayed in the church? I will never know. But I do know that back in church with my own family, my life has changed. I have gone down a different path.

For me, returning to the church to hear the word of God gave me a moral compass to live by. In a world where there is no standard, I agreed with everyone. I based what I believed on the facts people presented. Often those facts came from their opinion and agenda.

Hearing the Bible preached by a knowledgeable Bible teaching pastor gave me the life principles to form my own opinion. My opinion and decisions are now based on God’s word not the whims of our society.

People might argue that God’s word is not relevant today, but the issues we face today are the same issues people faced thousands of years ago. I recognize the Bible as the most life applicable book that has transformed lives through the generations.

Back at church, I realized people want to learn, grow, and change into better individuals, to be more Christlike. Of course, hypocrites exist in the church just like everywhere else. But I refuse to allow a few hypocrites who are not following God to prevent me from connecting with the vast majority of wonderful people who want to grow in their faith.

To study God’s word together in a small group within the church gives us support, encouragement, and accountability. Where else can we find people who want to see us succeed, mature into better individuals, become better parents and spouses, and make a difference in society? In the church we do life together. We are not alone in our journey.

God equips believers with various gifts to work together as one body. We can rely on others who have gifts and talents that we may not have. One person may have the gift of teaching, another the gift of mercy, another the gift of administration, or creativity or helps. We all unite as a church body with our gifts to glorify God by loving and serving others. He designed the church to work together as one.

I experienced the benefit of church in my life when my five-year-old son Connor had leukemia. With our immediate family out of town, many sisters and brothers in Christ stepped in to provide childcare, meals, emotional support and prayer. At the hospital the pastors and elders laid hands on Connor and prayed. And many times God used the church to offer Biblical counseling during our marriage struggles.

Why go to church? My life has been blessed as I have made the choice to fellowship with other like-minded people, seek Godly counsel, and study and obey God’s word. I could have easily taken the wide road of divorce or infidelity during my marriage struggles. I thank God I had the support, love, and accountability of my Christian family. I discovered that God designed the church to bless our lives and save us from destruction.

God’s Word To Live By:

Romans 12:4-8
Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. We have different gifts, according to the grace given us. If a man’s gift is prophesying, let him use it in proportion to his faith. If it is serving, let him serve; if it is teaching, let him teach; if it is encouraging, let him encourage; if it is contributing to the needs of others, let him give generously; if it is leadership, let him govern diligently; if it is showing mercy, let him do it cheerfully.

Romans 12:9-16
Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in brotherly love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Share with God’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality. Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. Live in harmony with one another. Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position. Do not be conceited.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

