Teenage Runaway

I watched my sister’s face on the evening news. They reported her missing. Tears welled up. I was terrified at the thought of what could happen to her.

Four months went by without hearing from Karen. My mother hired a detective but we had no leads to go on. Each day that passed our hope diminished. We never talked about my sister thinking it would make it easier. I stayed busy with school and seeking the love and attention of my boyfriend.

One day I answered the phone to hear a familiar voice. “Kirsten, it’s me.”

All my pent-up fears flowed down my cheeks, I sobbed, “Karen, you’re alive! Are you alright?”

“I’m fine. I need to ask you a question.”

I tried to pull myself together taking a deep breath, “What?” Standing at the kitchen window I stared at the bamboo hedges surrounding our property that had failed to protect us from the outside world.

“Kirsten, do you think Mom will let me come home if I’m pregnant?”

Without hesitation I answered, “Yes. Of course! We want you home. Where are you?”

I promised to pick her up that night, getting directions before I hung up. When my mother and my boyfriend got off work, we drove eight hours, arriving at the small rundown motel around midnight. We pulled up to the room not knowing what to expect.

Karen answered the door with her suitcase in her hand ready to go. She seemed distant. Her blond hair fell around her sad blue eyes framing her high cheek bones. We quickly put her luggage in the car concerned that her boyfriend might arrive at any moment to persuade her not to go.

Although Karen came home we were emotionally distant. Each of us had made choices that impacted each other and changed us all forever. For every decision has a consequence, good or bad. Family, friends and those we may not even know can receive the curse or blessing of a choice we make.

Against the advice of my mother, my father and many family members, Karen chose to give birth to an adorable baby boy who she raised to be a remarkable young man. Later I chose a different path. A choice that impacted my family and future generations.

Over 1.6 million teens runaway each year. My family was restored with Karen back in our lives. Karen made the choice to come home. Not every runaway child will have that choice. Abductions and sex trafficking are becoming pervasive in our society. Always report questionable activity and trust your gut instincts. You may save a life.

God’s Word To Live By:

Psalm 112:7
He will have no fear of bad news; his heart is steadfast, trusting in the LORD.

Psalm 25:3
No one whose hope is in you will ever be put to shame, but they will be put to shame who are treacherous without excuse.

Psalm 119:116
Sustain me according to your promise, and I will live; do not let my hopes be dashed.

Isaiah 40:31
But those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Zechariah 9:12
Return to your fortress, O prisoners of hope; even now I announce that I will restore twice as much to you.

Romans 5:3-5
Not only so, but we rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perserverance; perserverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit.

Romans 12:12
Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.

Romans 15:13
May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with the hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. So then, brothers, stand firm and hold to the teachings we passed on to you, whether by word of mouth or by letter.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

