Why Jesus?

At some point in life we question who is God, does He care for me, which religion is right, and is there only one way? I questioned, does God even exist?

I knew Jesus died on a cross. We all know that. In fact, I called myself a Christian. Raised with parents who called themselves Christians, we went to church on and off in my childhood. Yet, I never read my Bible, I rarely prayed, and I never knew why Jesus died on the cross.

We were baptized as a family in my early teens, but my ears and eyes were shut to the message of God preached at my church.

For many people, they seek God after having children. Not me. I never saw the miracle of a newborn baby, emotionally detached after my abortion and being raised by detached parents, I was numb. In fact, my identity was never as a mother, but I found my self-worth in my career. Actually, I followed in my parent’s footsteps.

When I lost my job, I lost my god.

Eventually after thirteen years of marriage my frustration with my husband drove me back to church. I started looking for answers: who is God, does he exist, and can He help me?

Due to some divine encounters I read the Bible for the first time, I attended church, went to a Bible study, and prayed. God opened my eyes and my heart. He revealed Himself in a way that convinced me that we have a God who is personal and He loves me.

Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth and the life. Only through me you can come to the Father.” He was either telling the truth or a lunatic or a liar. Most liars are not considered great people or prophets, yet most people who are not Christians think that Jesus is at the very minimum a great person.

Jesus claimed to be God. He foretold of His death and said He would be raised on the third day. He taught to love God with all our heart, mind, soul and strength and then to love everyone else as we love ourselves.

Salvation is a gift that we don’t deserve.

The Bible says we are saved by the grace of God, not by our achievements. There is no spiritual awakening, no nirvana experience, or anything at all that you or I can do to gain access into heaven.

Jesus left heaven to pay the consequence of your sin and mine by dying on a cross so that we can stand before a Holy God forgiven, unashamed and cleansed by the blood of Jesus. He went to hell for you and me then He conquered death and ascended to heaven to prepare a place for us. Our punishment has been fully paid by His sacrifice. Jesus rose from the dead. He is alive. History proves it, scripture verifies it, and personal experience testifies to it.

Consider that the God of the universe wants to reveal himself to you today. Jesus is a gentleman. He stands at the door of your heart and knocks, (Revelation 3:20). Will you trust Him and invite Him in?

Take a step of faith by saying this simple prayer:
Dear Jesus, Please forgive me of all my sin. Thank you for going to the cross on my behalf and paying the consequence of turning my back on you, living according to my selfish ways, and sinning against you and others. I believe you are the Son of God and I invite you into my heart to live and reign. Please help me develop a close relationship with you by reading the Bible, spending time with you in prayer, and please lead me to a church. In Jesus name I pray.
Amen.

If you prayed that prayer, congratulation and welcome to the family. You are part of my family now. We all know that spending time with family and friends will strengthen our relationship. The same is true with God. As you spend time in God’s Word and in prayer, your life will change. You will experience His peace, joy, and presence as you seek him with all of your heart. Friend me on Facebook where I post God’s promise daily, and begin to follow and obey His Word. You will be blessed and He will show Himself to you, (John 14:21).

Jesus is alive and He’s with you.

God’s Word To Live By:

John 3:16
For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Revelation 3:20
Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

Acts 2:38
Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of teh Holy Spirit.

John 14:6
Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.”

Ephesians 2:8-9
For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God – not by works, so that no one can boast.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    • Criticism, control, and complacency push spouses into divorce court or the arms of lovers. 1 month ago
    • The desire to be accepted compels many of us to compromise what’s right to do whatever it takes to be loved. amazon.com/Loving-Unlovab… 1 month ago
    • Rejected people react in unlovable ways. Even the fear of rejection will lead people to be rude and aloof in an eff… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago
    • @BillHybels Hearts breaking and crying out together for those who are broken brings a bonding of tears that are never forgotten. 1 month ago
    • RT @BillHybels: A room full of pastors in Addis Ababa prayed for a devastated church in Texas today..."Mourning for those who mourn." Unfo… 1 month ago
