The Battle Prayer

Wide awake in the early morning hours, maybe due to hormones being forty-something, God wakes me up to pray. Curled up under my covers I use the time to pray, but most often God gets me out of bed with a sense of urgency. Burdened for my four teenagers I stand at their doors with outstretched arms to do battle.

I cry out to my Mighty Defender, Protector, and Refuge on their behalf. As the Israelites did to save their sons I claim the blood of the Lamb over their door-posts. The Bible teaches that God saved them from the plague of death and destruction by the blood of the sacrificial lamb. Jesus is the Lamb of God. His blood was poured out to save and protect us here and into eternity.

In the powerful name of Jesus pray for the protection of your children, for deliverance of their sin, and for God’s work in their lives. Time and time again I have seen God’s faithfulness, His miracles, and transforming power take place in the lives of children whose parents stayed faithful to do battle on their knees.

In Lamentations 2:19 God says, “Arise, cry out in the night, as the watches of the night begin; pour out your heart like water in the presence of the Lord. Lift up your hands to him for the lives of your children.”

What battle do you need to fight with outstretched hands?

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. You’ve done it again! Superb writing.

    Reply
    • Thank you Traci for your words of encouragement. God is faithful to hear the cries of our heart.

      Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need” Hebrews 4:16.

      May the Lord continue to pour His amazing blessings upon you.

      Reply
  2. Donna

     /  April 25, 2010

    Wow Kirsten!

    Are you and I on the same waking/spiritual schedule? I read this and was shocked as I had awakened at 3 am for days with scripture running through my mind regarding my eldest son. Ironically, in my personal Bible study that week, God showed me a great truth about prayer. I was reading of Jesus in the garden the night he was arrested really noting how He told them to pray and they slept. The one time they saw Jesus distraught – they slept. 3 am came and I popped up realizing that the Lord was sending a loud and clear message for me to get out of bed and pray for my son. I did and sent an email I can only credit to the authorship of the Holy Spirit. You are exactly right about praying for your children and doing so with the determination of a warrior. Dig in, fight like a soldier for your children, and heed His voice when and where ever it comes. I just had to send a comment as your post hit so close to home. I am so thankful for you – you are a blessing!

    Reply
    • Donna, Praising God that He is waking you up to fight the battle for your son. Our obedience will be rewarded. We declare it and claim it today that our children will be mighty warriors for the kingdom of God, fighting for righteousness and truth in the powerful name of Jesus. You go sister, take the sword of truth and the breast plate of righteousness and cry out for your precious son. Who else will? We are blessed with this responsibility as we train and teach our children in the ways of the Lord. The days are evil and they need the faithful prayers of their mothers. May God pour out His amazing and abundant blessings upon you and your family for His name’s sake.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    • Criticism, control, and complacency push spouses into divorce court or the arms of lovers. 1 month ago
    • The desire to be accepted compels many of us to compromise what’s right to do whatever it takes to be loved. amazon.com/Loving-Unlovab… 1 month ago
    • Rejected people react in unlovable ways. Even the fear of rejection will lead people to be rude and aloof in an eff… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago
    • @BillHybels Hearts breaking and crying out together for those who are broken brings a bonding of tears that are never forgotten. 1 month ago
    • RT @BillHybels: A room full of pastors in Addis Ababa prayed for a devastated church in Texas today..."Mourning for those who mourn." Unfo… 1 month ago
