Why Should We Pray?

God created us to be in a relationship with Him. Prayer allows us to commune with God. When we take the time to pray He reveals Himself to us and becomes personal, someone we want to spend time with, like a friend.

We also become aware of God’s presence and we experience Him at work in our lives when we pray. That’s why we need to be in constant prayer, even for the littlest things. Nothing is too insignificant for God. He cares about the details.

Some people think that God’s too busy for them. I remember when my son had leukemia and I proclaimed to my Great Aunt Daisy that I was praying for God to heal Connor.

She said, “He’s got more important things to take care of.”

Well, I beg to differ. God healed my son. He also cares about a parking space and me eating right and giving me the words to write for my book. He cares about every detail of my life. And I know this because I know Him and I see His faithfulness.

Open your eyes in the morning and praise Him for another day. Pour yourself a cup of coffee, grab your Bible and a notebook, and give Him your attention. That’s what He wants, just you and Him without distractions, even if it’s for only ten minutes.

Start there and then you’ll want to spend more time with Him. In fact, as you give Him your time you will discover that your time is multiplied. You will accomplish more throughout your day when you begin your morning with Him.

Talk to God as you get ready in the morning and eagerly anticipate with joy what He will do. Throughout your day call upon him for wisdom, direction, inspiration, strength and efficiency. At the grocery store ask Him to help you choose healthy food, before you walk in the door of your home talk to God and listen to what He wants to tell you.

Then, as you go to sleep reflect on your day. Praise Him for being with you throughout your day, confess your short comings and resolve to please Him, thank Him for what He did, and then ask Him for your specific requests. Use the simple acrostic ACTS: Adoration for the most Holy God, Confession, Thanksgiving, and Specific requests.

“Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1Thessalonians 5:16-18

Prayer changes your perspective. Why do you pray?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. What a fresh reminder of God’s availability and tender attention He bestows on us! I miss so many blessings and joy when I go about me day without connecting to Him throughout the day. I learned all day communication with Him years ago yet needed this nudge to continue each day and not grow weary in trying to do life on my own. Thanks, Kirsten!

    Reply
    • Sharon, we often need that reminder that God longs to be in constant communication with us. May you experience Him in a mighty and personal way as you seek Him throughout your day. Blessings Sharon.

      Reply
  2. Donna

     /  June 15, 2011

    I love your posts. Such a perfect message. Nothing compares to the moments spent of undivided attention to our Father. Pure bliss.

    Reply
    • Pure bliss indeed, Donna. Our Abba Father embraces us with His love when we spend time with Him. So glad we can still connect over a thousand miles away.

      Reply
  3. Kenji Stratton

     /  June 14, 2011

    Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. James 4:8

    Reply
  4. JAN

     /  June 14, 2011

    K: Thank You for so clearly reminding me to talk with God just as I would talk with my Best Friend; as He is My Best Friend and Confidant All DAYS ;>

    Reply
    • Praise God that He cares so much about our relationship with Him that He puts those reminders in our path for our eyes to see and our hearts to hear. God bless you Jan.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

