Why Church?

People question, why go to church? The best answer, God designed us to be together. He actually used the analogy of our physical body to illustrate the purpose of the church body.

Ephesians 4:6 says, “From him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and builds itself up in love, as each part does its work.”

As a Christian, God equips believers with various spiritual gifts to work together as one body. We can rely on others who have gifts and talents that we may not have. One person may have the gift of teaching, another the gift of mercy, another the gift of administration, or creativity, or helps. We all unite as a church body with our gifts to glorify God by loving and serving others. He designed the church to work together as one family.

Where else can we find people who want us to succeed, to mature into better individuals, to be better parents, spouses and make a difference in society? In the church, we do life together. We are not alone in our journey. Small group allows us to come together to study God’s Word, offer prayer support, encouragement and accountability.

I experienced the benefit of the church body when my five-year old son had leukemia. With our immediate family out-of-town my church family stepped in to provide childcare, meals, emotional support and prayer. At the hospital the pastors and elders laid hands on Connor and prayed. And many times God used the church to offer biblical counseling during my marriage struggles. Without the support, love and accountability of my Christian family I would have given up, tempted to call it quits on my marriage that would have brought more pain and suffering. I praise God for my sisters and brothers who supported me.

Why go to church? Your life will be blessed as you make the choice to fellowship with other like-minded people, study God’s Word together, and do something to make a difference in the lives of others. Without you, the church body is crippled and maimed.  You are needed. God designed the church to bless you, to help you grow spiritually strong, to help others, and save you from the wide road of destruction. If you’re not involved in church, your family misses you.

Please comment: How have you been blessed by being in your church family?

Do a google search: Find a Bible based church in your area.

Discover your Spiritual Gifts at www.spiritualgiftstest.com

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Donna

     /  April 4, 2011

    Great message and an important part of a Christians life! You and the rest of my sisters in Christ held me this past year in a way I am forever grateful for. That faithfulness allowed not only me to be blessed but it blessed them as well, and was such a powerful testimony to my unsaved family and friends! I prayed for so much and God used Christians – His body – in my life to answer those prayers. I rejoice that I get to share what God has done for me through all of you. Love you all so much!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

