Are You Living the Adventure?

Each of us faces an exciting adventure through this journey called life.

We confront life and death, loving and rebellious children, financial freedom and despair, faithfulness and betrayal, and good and bad health. We never know what tomorrow will bring. Along the journey of everyday life we can participate in escapades in far off lands and adventures close to home.

Right in front of my eyes is the thrill of a lifetime when I slow down to notice a hug from my child, the smell of a beautiful rose, the sincerity of a friend, the warmth of a blanket, and the sweet taste of watermelon. I’ve realized that all the gifts around me could be gone tomorrow.

When I almost lost my child to leukemia I discovered the privilege of having my family, church, and friends who all rallied around me in my time of need. I recognized the blessing of my relationships realizing I can’t assume tomorrow will come.

I’m learning to cherish each day as though it was my last; the last time to see my loved ones, the last time to see the beauty of a butterfly, the last time to use my legs to walk, the last time to come home, the last meal to eat, the last time to sleep in my comfortable bed.

Thank God daily for the beautiful gifts he gives you in this adventure called life. “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thes.5:16-18.

What have you learned on your adventure?

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

