Never Knew A Father’s Love

Abandoned by her earthly father, Perri Storey took a road that led to heartache and destruction, but now God is using her pain to help others. Here is her story:

I am no stranger to pain. My heart has been broken into many pieces… many times. I never knew a father’s love growing up. This led to brokenness and low self-worth. I learned early on in this life that there was no one to fight for me, so I learned to be tough and fight for myself.

Everything was such a struggle. You know that famous line from the movie The Color Purple, “All my life I had to fight” – well, it is true of me.

I searched for a father’s love in wrong relationships. I became a young mother during the middle of sophomore year in college. I was determined to finish college… and I did.

I fought to get ahead, to finish college as a single mom, to make a better life for my son, to pay the mortgage, to pay tuition, to help my brother serving a life sentence win his freedom, to be a true-blue friend, and to just do what is right.

I fought for relationships that were no good for me. Fighting to hold on to a man who knew his worth, but I never knew mine; a man who had all the ‘trappings’ – good looking, quasi-saved, nice home, nice car – but who never nourished and cherished me. I desperately wanted a man’s love from a man incapable of loving me.

Now I want to help women, like me, overcome the damage done to our self-worth by never knowing a father’s love. I learned that I am WORTHY of a man’s best. I had to allow God to teach me that I don’t have to compromise who I am in order to have a man’s love.

We are worth a man’s inconvenience of having to take cold showers and stay on his knees in prayer – knowing the woman of God is worth the wait. I want women to know they are worth the effort of a man doing things God’s way. We are worth the man’s efforts and not his sloppy seconds.

I want women to know that there is a man of God who would rather walk on hot coals lined with razor blades than have sex with the woman of God who is willing to wait and honor him for their future marriage. A man should want no part in making a good woman fall from grace and purity.

My grandmother used to say, “Sleeping with a man never kept a man,” and she was right.

I want to touch the lives of women who compromise who they are to be with men who can’t even love them properly. The root of the compromise can be traced back to never knowing a father’s love. I want women all over the world to know that they do not have to settle – they are worthy of true love.

I want to help young girls not make the same choices in life that I made by holding on to wrong relationships – searching for love in all the wrong places. I want to help young boys like my brother, who is serving a life sentence without parole, to find God and change the trajectory of their lives. I want to introduce everyone to the father’s love that I’ve come to know.

God’s Word says in Jeremiah 31:3, The LORD appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” You can find Perri Storey’s Ministry at Never Knew A Father’s Love.

If you enjoyed this article you may also like Who’s Your Daddy?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to valuable tools and free stuff to live a victorious life.

  • Follow Me

    • Criticism, control, and complacency push spouses into divorce court or the arms of lovers. 1 month ago
    • The desire to be accepted compels many of us to compromise what’s right to do whatever it takes to be loved. amazon.com/Loving-Unlovab… 1 month ago
    • Rejected people react in unlovable ways. Even the fear of rejection will lead people to be rude and aloof in an eff… twitter.com/i/web/status/9… 1 month ago
    • @BillHybels Hearts breaking and crying out together for those who are broken brings a bonding of tears that are never forgotten. 1 month ago
    • RT @BillHybels: A room full of pastors in Addis Ababa prayed for a devastated church in Texas today..."Mourning for those who mourn." Unfo… 1 month ago
